Sunday, November 30, 2014

Dettifoss Rainbow


The mighty Dettifoss in the north of Iceland was thundering down into the depth so massively, that your ears are roaring with the noise and you have to shout to talk to each other. At the same time, it was radiant with a fragile rainbow in the mist.

Saturday, November 29, 2014

Friday, November 28, 2014

A firework of flowers

There are so many flowers and flower markets on Madeira. These ones here seemed to look like a firework display to me.







Thursday, November 27, 2014

Electrified

At the New England Aquarium they keep an electric eel in one of the tanks. There is a detector that shows how much electricity the eel emmitts. Since they constantly use low power electiricity for navigation purposes, you get to hear the pulsing.

I never was able to be there when it send out a powerful stroke.







Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Touch tank

The New England Aquarium has a touch tank where you are allowed to reach in and touch the fish - mostly rays - that are swimming by. You get to notice there that you can well see them when they swim but that they are near impossible to spot when they settled into the sand ever so slightly.




This one is quite easy to make out. But check out this flounder in a different display.

Would you have made this one out if there was no side lighting? I was having fun photographing the little guys. They seemed so curious!



Monday, November 24, 2014

Jelly Time

Jelly Fish are really hard to keep in tanks because of the way they move and live in the water. But the New England Aquarium, Boston, does have severaly species on display.

Due to the dark and the fact that they are constantly moving they are hard to photograph but mezermerizing to watch.




Sunday, November 23, 2014

Stripy

This really stripy fish is quite fashionable. Photographed at the New England Aquarium, Boston, summer 2014.



Saturday, November 22, 2014

Rubber Duckies

These two were certainly having a good chat about whatever rubber duckies chat about.



Friday, November 21, 2014

Red Flower

Another summer image. I just can't get away from them. I really should, though.






Thursday, November 20, 2014

Spilling out



In a studio experiment I worked on water spills out of glasses. One other image of this experiment I did I already posted a few days ago. But I did not want to keep this one from you!

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Summer Memories

This is a little set back to summer. Right before the weather is getting cold. It is totally out of season. But you deserve it anyways.



Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Regal flight

This is one of my images from the bird of prey show on Photokina 2014, Cologne, Germany.






Monday, November 17, 2014

Already in Africa

While I bring the image of the stork and chick to you they both already are in Africa, I bet. This is supposed to bring summer back, just a little bit, for today.





Sunday, November 16, 2014

A summer evening

I know temperatures are falling and we are approaching winter pretty fast. But I wanted to present you a little glimpse of summer for a change. Photographed in Lippeauen in August 2014.



Saturday, November 15, 2014

Afra And Ulrich in Augsburg

The churches are two different ones. The catholic one is called Afra and Ulrich and is the one in the back. The front one is a protestant church.





Friday, November 14, 2014

Water Ways

Augsburg has creeks, rivers and canals and I just learned that Augsburg is having more bridges than Venice. Maybe that is even true.







Thursday, November 13, 2014

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Snarky Puppy in Dortmund

On 2 November Snarky Puppy was back in Dortmund and we had the tickets for the concert in Domizil.








Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Rothenburg's guard

In Rothenburg ob der Tauber, southern Germany, I met this friendly, though armoured guard. I thought it was funny to see him between all these flags... most of those countries were not even created when knights wore armours.





Monday, November 10, 2014

Augsburg

I was spending a weekend in Augsburg lately. Early in the morning I thought this was the right way to portrait a church in counterlight.





Sunday, November 9, 2014

Perfect House






If you are ever looking for a house that stands all by itself, have you considered that houses alone on an island are prefect? I guess, a small house is not enough. But it is so cute.

Vesteralen, Northern Norway, 2013.




Saturday, November 8, 2014

Friday, November 7, 2014

Ages Old

This tree is ages old.

We visited the 1000 year old trees on Madeira on a foggy day. This added to the misterious feel and the thought of fairies or gnomes coming out of the thicket is not so far fetched, really.






Thursday, November 6, 2014

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Rocky Cliffs

We went to Madeira this year in spring and had a great time. The rocky cliffs on the east edge of the island are really scenic.



Tuesday, November 4, 2014

Toy Town

We stopped in Toy Town, Massachusetts, also known as Winchendon. The display on the village lawn is really scenic.


Monday, November 3, 2014

Saturday, November 1, 2014

Gold Finch

These gold finches came to the feeding place of their choice. The sun flowers were getting more and more empty day by day.