Tuesday, July 30, 2013

hatching

These butterflies are hatching. We found them in the middle of the butterfly house we visited.








Monday, July 29, 2013

so successfull

I can totally tell, why the squirrels love the tree so much. Next to the feeding station we put up for the little guys and the bird feeder we have placed underneath, there are endless amounts of really tasty cherries in the tree for weeks already. We notice that the squirrels love these as much as we do.








Sunday, July 28, 2013

on a quest

I found one of "my" squirrels high up in the tree yesterday. He was running the branches, looking down at me and kept running around some more.






Saturday, July 27, 2013

Thursday, July 25, 2013

Keep an eye on it all

This couple of canada geese is keeping a tight eye on everything around them. They are most likely guarding their breeding site.




Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Muskrats

There are muskrats, beavers and nutria in the river meadows. This is a muskrat, as far as I know.



Tuesday, July 23, 2013

Inside the Feeder

Our squirrel has - more than once - decided to be sitting inside the feeder. It keeps turning in tight circles in there, grabs a nut, nibbels it, spinns around again, and keeps eating. It is really cute to watch.








Sunday, July 21, 2013

Swans in a Lake

In the river meadows there is a lake that forms due to higher ground water. Lately we came by and there was a nice lake and there was a collection of swans making use of it.






Saturday, July 20, 2013

rocks, re-edited

I went through my photos from last summer again. This is a photo from Vatnsnes, Northern Iceland, that I already processed last fall, but this is a really nice one, so it was worth it to take another try.







Friday, July 19, 2013

Stork Chick

There are 3 stork chicks in the nest here. Quite some work for the parents.







Thursday, July 18, 2013

Cloud Banks

Summer 2012, Reykjavík harbour, with a cloud cover on the shore across the bay.









Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Tuesday, July 16, 2013

Sunday, July 14, 2013

Got a Worm

We put a feeder up for live worms. Since we ran out of stock of live worms quickly we were also feeding dried worms. The baby chickadee was digging in.







Saturday, July 13, 2013

Another Butterfly

This is another one of the butterflys from the butterfly house in the town park.







Friday, July 12, 2013

Explosion of Color

In our local park they keep a butterfly house, a tropical growhouse with an abundance of butterflies and tropical plants. That is probably the most colorful photo I will post this month. Enjoy!



Thursday, July 11, 2013

Crossing Forks

This is another one of the photos I lately took for the contest. The topic was "cutlery".






Wednesday, July 10, 2013

foreign landscape

This looks like the African plains, really, but it is in the Neatherlands, near Arnheim. De Hoge Veluwe.






Monday, July 8, 2013

Squirrels all over

I did get to sneak a lot closer to the little guy, lately. He kept coming and going and didn't seem to mind.






Sunday, July 7, 2013

Curious

The squirrels are just too cute to limit the amount of pictures I show you.






Friday, July 5, 2013

Thursday, July 4, 2013

Take a look

The sparrows of the neighbor house is taking a look at the beautiful morning.






Tuesday, July 2, 2013

Butterflies, everywhere

We just went to the local butterfly house, a big, really warm growhouse in the local park that houses an amazing amount of different butterflies and little birds, and so on.

This photo I took for my regular contest.



my contest photo